Prologue Conference 2000

Dick Murray - Urban Animal Management Convenor

The UAM Advisory Group has always worked towards achieving 8 principal goals. Each of these goals (listed below) is essentially about promoting and *coordinating* best practices in UAM throughout Australia.

- 1. To provide a focus (a peak body) for cooperating elements of the veterinary profession, the pet retail/service industry, local government employees (AMOs) and administrators who influence policy and legislation in Urban Animal Management
- 2. To convene an annual national UAM Conference
- 3. To promote a well balanced national program of community regulation and public education relevant to competent/responsible pet ownership
- 4. To progressively develop a body of quality literature on the subject of UAM in Australia
- 5. To promote training, qualification and career paths for AMOs
- 6. To encourage performance assessment and the benchmarking of service delivery by local government in animal management
- 7. To keep in touch with people employed in UAM around Australia
- 8. To assist the active involvement of the veterinary profession (veterinarians and veterinary nurses) in the processes of planning and delivery of community animal management services
- 9. To draw together common animal management policy themes at an inter-community and inter-state level.

This conference has been designed to deliver on all 9 objectives. Thanks to good planning and wonderful speaker contributions, I believe it will do just that. I would like to thank the Hobart local arrangements committee as well as Doreen Culliver for helping to arrange the conference and prepare these conference proceedings. I would also like to draw attention to the UAM Advisory Group's corporate sponsors who are listed below.

UAM Advisory Group Membership for the year 2000

Dick Murray (Convenor)

Mick Cartwright

Tony Cooke

Jo Toia

Shane Scriggins

Rick Walduck

Doreen Culliver

Geoff Baxter

Geoff Irwin Barbara Horsfield
Deb Kelly Ian McBryde

Hobart Conference Local Arrangements Committee

Geoff Baxter (Chairman) Steve Rigby

Neil Gardner Stacey Pennicott

Kester Nolder